First Listen Live: Drive-By Truckers, ‘American Band’

By Jerad Walker  |  OPB

Drive-By Truckers performs American Band live at OPB in Portland, Ore.
Drive-By Truckers performs American Band live at OPB in Portland, Ore. opbmusic

In this concert, filmed at OPB in Portland, Ore., the long-running rock band Drive-By Truckers performs its timely and politically charged new record, American Band, in its entirety.

Over the course of a set that includes all 11 of the record’s songs, the group tackles social and political issues with firebrand zeal. Racism, immigration, gun violence, hate symbols and censorship all get their turn in the crosshairs of the band, fronted by Patterson Hood and Mike Cooley. But the record isn’t driven by unfocused anger: It’s a poignant take on what it means to be an American in a time when uncertainty and fear are omnipresent. As Hood says, he hopes to “turn on that light in the basement and see what’s scampering so we can figure out what we’re dealing with.”

Watch the full concert via VuHaus and listen to an interview with Patterson Hood and Mike Cooley at opbmusic.

Drive-By Truckers is on tour now.

Set List
  • “Ramon Casiano”
  • “Darkened Flags On The Cusp Of Dawn”
  • “Surrender Under Protest”
  • “Guns Of Umpqua”
  • “Filthy And Fried”
  • “Sun Don’t Shine”
  • “Kinky Hypocrite”
  • “Ever South”
  • “What It Means”
  • “Once They Banned Imagine”
  • “Baggage”

Audio Recording & Mix: Steven Kray, David Barbe; Lighting Design: Matt Rosvold; Scenery: Joseph Paulekas; Editor: Jarratt Taylor; Videographers: Sam Smith, Nate Sjol, Jarratt Taylor, Andrew Barrick; Executive Producer: David Christensen; Senior Vice-President/Content: Morgan Holm.

Copyright 2016 OPB. To see more, visit OPB.