Brian Settles And Central Union, Nox

By Ally Schweitzer


Songs featured June 23, 2016, as part of Capital Soundtrack from WAMU 88.5. Read more about the project and submit your own local song.

Time Is Fire

“100 Pieces”

from Time Is Fire


“Loose Thoughts”

from Loose Thoughts

Calm and Crisis

“Moving Parts”

from In A Real Good Place

The Funk Ark

“Bouzouki Song”

from Man Is A Monster

The Rail Runners

“Get Off the Tracks!”

from The Rail Runners


“Easy Morning”

from Seven

Fat Kneel


from Missing Beats: Volume 1

Thievery Corporation

“Samba Tranquille”

from The Mirror Conspiracy

Sherwood Gainer

“The Company”

from Bubble Burst Mode

Cosmic Romp

“Bandana Jam”

Dan Jacobs


from Creatures

Class Portrait

“Time Zones”

from Time Zones EP

Ephemeral Sun


from Harvest Aorta

Go Cozy

“Our Best Reflections”

from Bruises

Hailu Mergia and The Walias

“Eti Gual Blenai”

from Tche Belew

Jan Knutson


from Looking Both Ways



from Nox EP

Part of Capital Soundtrack

What does Washington sound like? Capital Soundtrack, a new music project from WAMU 88.5, explores that question. This summer, we’re turning over our airwaves to musicians from D.C., Maryland and Virginia. We’re doing that by overhauling the sounds you hear during our talk shows and news breaks, and dedicating all of our interlude music to local artists. So while you take in the news that matters to you — whether during Morning Edition with Matt McCleskey or The Kojo Nnamdi Show — the atmosphere of the day's events will be shaped by sounds from our region. Capital Soundtrack is our way of amplifying our local musicians and tapping into the rich and diverse sounds of this place we call home. Let WAMU connect you with the sounds of Washington.

All SoundtracksSubmit a Track